Overseas with no more than microwave: Life abroad in a budget hotel

With high hopes and big dreams I set out on a 30 hour journey across the world. First stop China where I was faced with an unexpected 10 hour stop over in a hotel with a bubbly french girl. After a power nap and a shower, it was time to board a 13 hour long haul to Amsterdam, from where I would shoot down to Rome. After what seemed like days of incoherent babble over airport intercoms and cramped little chairs if was a relief to spot a familiar face amid the bustling airport. I stepped out into the smoke chocked Roman air ready to take on Italy.

2016-04-02 18.47.42.jpg

It was a short 2 hour drive to the most picturesque hill top town Todi, where my family has recently move. This Umbrian villa would be my home for the next week until Firenze called.

After being pampered and spoilt with a lavish bath tub and over sized bed, delicious home cooked meals made with the finest Umbrian produce. I packed my bags and jumped on a train to Florence. With little knowledge of where I was actually going I had high expectations.

Soon to be crushed.

It was a blurry cab ride from the station, lugging my over sized suitcase into a hotel. With my only concern getting into my room, I took no notice of where I was. Checked in and in the cramped little lift, I made it too my room. My room mate was out but had already made her self comfortable in the bed closest to the ONLY power point in our room. Plonking my stuff down somewhat disappointed with the utterly tiny room I was standing in, i let out a breath of relief – and took a quick selfie letting everyone know i had arrived, I sat on my bed. What the F*&% do I do now?!

2017-01-09-12-47-33

Not wanting to waste day light I hurried downstairs and took to the streets of Florence, alone. I wondered aimlessly for close to an hour, not wanting to look like a tourist I walked with purpose but in fact was very lost. I was getting quite hungry but refused to stop for a panini in areas full of tourist to maintain my local look. I had many people ask me where things were and Americans attempt to speak Italian to me resulting in me shaking my head and shrugging them off.

2016-04-05-10-13-062016-04-05-09-49-532016-04-05-10-19-41

If you’ve ever walked around a city as beautiful as Firenze, all it takes is a glance upwards as you take a sip of your drink to see a lavish gold gilded fresco painting, on the roof of someones balcony. It is the intricate, delicate details of the city that I fell in love with. The peculiar mannerisms of the people and there subtle but lavish lifestyles that drew me in. I felt apart of something so beautiful, especially being in the 5 fashion capital of the world during fashion week. As I made my way around I couldn’t help thinking of a the centuries of people who have walked here. The history within the walls around me, each piazza having a significant meaning to the history of Italy. I past countless churches none of which came close to being as stunning as the Duomo.

2016-04-05-09-49-36

I found myself back where my walk begun, Hotel B&B. The beauty of the city left behind as I entered the lift to room 410. It was like walking out of the glamour of a Louis Vuitton fashion show and into a Kmart. We didn’t believe it when they said we would be traveling over seas with our only kitchen facilitates being a microwave. With breakfast provide it was up to us to fend of ourselves during lunch and dinner. This was life in a budget hotel. We soon became familiar with the nearest supermarkets, and quickly narrowed down our selection of food to what we would microwave and dry store. Due to the fact we didn’t have any means of refrigeration either, therefore our options were limited – this said many girls came up the the innovative idea of placing items on there window seal, as it was very cold outside.

2017-01-10-18-29-47

We thought we had conquered the Budget hotel, but no. Not only did we not have a kitchen, bar fridge or kettle. Our room walls were paper thin. This caused us to become uncomfortably aware of our neighbors bowel movements and private doings.

 

It was quickly brought to our attention that  few of the girls had things missing from there suit cases. It was quite cunning to steal things from the bottom of our suitcases, taking things from us that we wouldn’t notice. After hearing this, I proceeded to check my bag, just as the girls had had happen to them I had a air of pants missing. Our patients was wearing thin, tension was building among the group, this resulted in video diaries to Big Brother about our daily struggles within the shitty place. We were all ready to leave.

All in all my time exploring the city of firenze was like no other, but the parallel experience of living in a budget hotel was one I don’t wish to repeat again.

ps. Our microwave broke with one week left of the course.

Let my know of your experiences in dodgy hotels in the comments below and don’t forget to like us on Twitter and Facebook.

Love Always, Tipsy x

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.